Need Thumbnails populated from first image in post

Change 1000+ of WordPress Featured Images in 5 Minutes! Forums Questions and Answers Need Thumbnails populated from first image in post

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    photomj
    Participant

Hello –

I’ve been reading about your plug in and am kind of confused if it will do what I need it to.

I have a stand-alone blog, that I’ve been running for over 7 years, that I have brought over to my new WP/Woo website. The posts came over fine, but my old theme didn’t require “featured images” to be set, because it just pulled the first image, in the post, and set that as the thumbnail.

So now, in my new theme, I have empty thumbnails!

I did NOT bring over the blog images to the new website/blogs media files, however the current blog still exists and the posts all have an image within them, even though they aren’t designated as “featured images.”

Can or will your Pro version of this plug in, pull thumbnails from the first image within each post, or since the link is in the post, to where the images reside on my old blog site, can it pull images from there?

I have no use for “random” images at all and I can set images moving forward.

I would just like to be able to generate the thumbnails for 7+ years of blog posts!

Thanks for any info.

Mj

Martin Stehle

Yes, QFIP can do that. The images can be on another server. QFIP will download them, upload them into the media library and set them as featured images of the respective posts.

Downloading a batch of images needs time. I am thinking such an old blog as yours would have many posts (more than 500 or so?) and thus many images to download. So running the process with only some posts will prevent timeout errors, which are not a failure of the plugin but based on a limitation set by the server.

To process small amount of posts please use filters. The Time Filter is very handy for that.

If that should not work you can contact me for support.